jump to navigation

Application Promiscuity 7 September 2009

Posted by Oliver Mason in Apple, iphone, objective-c.
trackback

I was getting a bit bored with the slow progress on my Esperanto dictionary app, and over the holidays I started work on a few other ideas I had. One was a Maths-drill program for kids, as the ones that are already out there (at least the ones I tried) don’t seem to be ideal (nothing ever is ideal, though!). So I tried writing another app so our kids could play and practice their maths skills.

That app is almost done, just the artwork and sound effects are missing. At the moment it looks pretty rubbish (but looks aren’t that important as long as it works and doesn’t crash!), and the sound effects are nicked from somewhere, so I have to replace them with free ones. Again, the purpose was to try things out.

That app was quite fun, and also easy to do. More on that later…

The next app is one that supports teaching and learning students’ names. This makes use of a navigation controller, which is slow going. I’m picking up loads of experience in Objective-C quirks along the way. For example: avoid using NSNumbers as the keys in a dictionary if you want to save it using writeToFile later on…

Overall it’s very exciting, and the iPhone is a fun platform. It’s really great to see your own stuff amongst all those polished apps, and provides great motivation to do better.

Comments»

1. Chris Wild - 7 September 2009

I’ve still got to finish off timbles, which is my maths program. I’ll email you a link to the silverlight version…


Leave a Reply

