jump to navigation

Learning Erlang 2 March 2008

Posted by Oliver Mason in erlang.
trackback

After messing about with Scala for a while I found the syntax rather confusing. It’s just too much. Somehow I then had a look at Erlang, can’t quite remember why. But Erlang promises to be robust and easily concurrent, and it is an industrial strength language, being used for telephony programming at Ericsson. And it looks remarkably like Prolog. Now I’m glad I did do Prolog at uni all those years ago, even though it seemed like a waste of time at the time.

Erlang is not exactly famous for its string processing facilities: a string is just a list of numbers. But it also means you can use list processing stuff for dealing with strings. By way of learning I now port/rewrite my corpus access tool in Erlang. That’s the fourth language already, after C, C++, and Java. The Scala version didn’t get started properly, and I think I’ll abandon that now.

There are some pitfalls to bear in mind when working with Erlang. Mainly it is getting used to the way Erlang works. A very useful feature is that functions can return tupels, eg {ok, Result}, or {error, Reason}. One only needs to have a common way of doing that, so that some functions don’t return a tupel while others don’t. Or if they do, keep in mind what function returns what.

Sending messages between processes: Creating processes is dead easy, and I hope it will really mean speed when I run the system on the university’s multi-core machine. Just be careful to remember what messages each process accepts, and don’t include a catch-all one. Especially intermediate processes which get a request from some process, and send one out to another process can sometimes get muddled up with their messages… And don’t open files in ‘raw’ mode without knowing what it means!

So far it is going well. After about a week I have the basic concordancing functionality ported. Of course most of that time was spent debugging and wondering why it didn’t work the way I wanted it. But the files are a lot shorter, and perhaps Erlang does indeed allow a tenfold increase in productivity. One thing I’m unlikely to port is the indexing stuff: that works alright in Java and is a one-off procedure anyway.

I cannot make any judgments on speed: no profiling yet. But once I can do a few more things with the system, I will test-drive it on the Blue Bear computer. Each corpus will be in its own process, so processing them in parallel looks promising.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

